Posted by: tim ellis | June 24, 2023

The Azores – Saturday 24th June 2023

A much better day today. Last night after dinner was the first time I could see Mt Pico from my window, and although it is a bit hazy on top, I can still see it this morning.

Mount Pico

This morning’s trip is with Norberto, and we see Common Dolphin and Humpback and Sperm Whales. I am sitting at the back of the Zodiac, and find every time the whales dive, the boat manages to move to interpose someone’s head between my camera lens and the action. (I do get some clear sightings, bit not really any good photos).

Common Dolphin

Norberto doesn’t have a tour this afternoon, so I am joining the Naturalists boat. This has been set up out of Lisbon University to help in their research projects. Mindful of this morning’s photo problems, I manage to get a front seat, which brings a different set of issues. Although the views are mostly uninterrupted there is quite a lot more spray, meaning my camera spends more time sheltering in its case, leading to fewer photos all round. We mainly see the humpback whale from this morning, and more (or more of the same) common dolphin. There is also a (very) brief view of a loggerhead turtle, but it doesn’t hang around to have any photos taken.

Sperm Whale


Leave a comment

Categories